Middle Passage
Middle Passage
Regular price $ 16.00 $ 0.00

Middle Passage

Charles Johnson (A)

List Price: $16.00 (Paperback - African American History / Middle Passage / Slave Trade - 1998)

Description: A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnson's National Book Award-winning masterpiece of a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick heroic in proportion to fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review) and . with a new introduction from Stanley Crouch.

Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave and irrepressible rogue, is lost in the underworld of 1830s New Orleans. Desperate to escape the cityäó»s unscrupulous bill collectors and the pawing hands of a schoolteacher hellbent on marrying him, he jumps aboard the Republic, a slave ship en route to collect members of a legendary African tribe, the Allmuseri. Thus begins a voyage of metaphysical horror and human atrocity, a journey which challenges our notions of freedom, fate and how we live together. Peopled with vivid and unforgettable characters, nimble in its interplay of comedy and serious ideas, this dazzling modern classic is a perfect blend of the picaresque tale, historical romance, sea yarn, slave narrative and philosophical allegory. (209 pigs)

Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.5 x 8 inches
Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces

ISBN: AFHI978-0684855882

Share this Product


More from this collection